Campbell Outruns Bassett and Weather to Win at Tri-County

Campbell Outruns Bassett and Weather to Win at Tri-County

by July 15, 2013 0 comments

HUDSON, NC (JULY 14, 2013) — Garrett Campbell repeated his performance from last July on Friday night at Tri-County Motor Speedway, taking the victory in the UARA-STARS 150. Campbell edged Ronnie Bassett, Jr. by a car length at the line with Dillon Bassett, David Garbo and R.A. Brown rounding out the top five.

Travis Swaim once again claimed the Sunoco Pole Award, his fifth of the season, and led the field to green despite looming severe weather in the area. Assuming the race would be shortened by rain, David Garbo, Jr., and Garrett Campbell kept pace with Swaim in the early laps and seemed to be racing to lap 75, an official race if weather were to play a part in the outcome, but it never did.

Garbo and Swaim raced hard in the opening laps, making contact that nearly sent both cars into the inside wall while battling for the lead. Campbell quickly took advantage of the pair’s hardnosed battle and motored around both of them by lap 32 to take the race lead.

Campbell held the race lead until late in the event when Josh Wright’s disabled car left fluid around the speedway and forced the event’s only red flag. In the ensuing shootout, Campbell had to hold off Garbo, Dillon Bassett and former Tri-County winner Ronnie Bassett, Jr. for the win.

In a repeat of last July’s UARA-STARS Tri-County event, it was Campbell fending off the advances of Bassett, Jr., as the laps wound down. On the final lap, Bassett tried two maneuvers on the bottom of the track to get by Campbell but was unable to make the pass, coming up just a car length short at the checkered flag.

“We really have been trying to figure out these new tires, and it looks like we did tonight. I feel like I’ve been at a dirt track tonight with all the sand out there and having to be the one who cleared off the top groove,” said Campbell in victory lane. “I have to thank my cousin, Kenyon Davidson, and my entire family and crew. This is awesome to be in victory lane again, I just can’t believe I’m so exhausted after this one.”

“I knew Ronnie was probably saving tires and had a little bit better tires at the end than I did, but it paid off for us to go hard this time,” he added.

Unofficially, Campbell vaulted over Bassett, Jr., by two markers to lead the point standings after his victory.

“That’s all I had, right there,” said Bassett, Jr., after the event. “His car was on a rail. With all the momentum up top, it was tough to roll the bottom and get a run on him. But we’ll go home with our heads down and do some more work for Caraway.”

With the victory, Campbell secured the Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race for Jeremy Upchurch. He also claimed the Tilton Most Laps Led Award and the Joe Gibbs Driven Fastest Lap Award. Dillon Bassett claimed the Holley Performer of the Race Award for advancing 20 positions during the course of the event. The Xtreme Trophies/Circle Racing Wheels Rookie of the Race was David Garbo, Jr., and the ARBodies Hard Luck Award went to hometown driver Thomas Beane after his early exit from the event. Pigwire awarded their Electrifying Move of the Race Award to Travs Swaim for his save on the frontstretch in the early laps while racing Garbo. Fluidyne’s Cool Under Pressure Award went to Chandler LeVan for his composure after beign stuck in a number of three and four-wide situations.

While PigWire’s Electrifying Move of the Race Award technically must go to a driver, the UARA awarded its own version of the accolade to the Blue Ridge Power Co-op that serves the Tri-County Motor Speedway area. A partial power outage at the speedway was quickly attended to by the company and the necessary, cumbersome repairs were made in time to go racing on Friday night while only delaying the start of the racing program by a mere 10 minutes.

The next UARA-STARS event is scheduled for Caraway Speedway on July 27, the tour’s first of two visits to the facility this year.

For more information on the UARA-STARS, call (828) 692-3833 or visit Fans are also encouraged to interact on social media using #uarastars on all social media posts related to the series. The UARA is also on both Facebook ( and Twitter (@uarastarsseries) where fans can find the latest updates and inside information. 150 Finish:

1.  Garrett Campbell

2.  Ronnie Bassett Jr.

3.  Dillon Bassett

4.  David Garbo, Jr.

5.  R.A. Brown

6.  Travis Swaim

7.  Brandon Jones

8.  Kaz Grala

9.  C.J. Hulsey

10. Garrett Jones

11. Dan Moore

12. Jeremy Burns

13. Chandler Levan

14. Will Burns

15. Will Gallaher

16. Danny O’Quinn Jr.

17. Brodie Kostecki

18. Grant Wimbish

19. Brandon White

20. Josh Wright

21. Dylan Hall

22. Jason Cochran

23. Travis Byrd

24. Dillon Houser

25. Thomas Beane

26. Tyler Church DNQ

Press Release
Press Release, source information and photo credits are located at the bottom of the article.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment