Garrett Campbell Survives the Green-White-Checkered

Garrett Campbell Survives the Green-White-Checkered

by June 2, 2013 0 comments

LPR-1306Coeburn, VA (6-2-13) –Garrett Campbell survives the green-white-checkered for the Courtesy Chevrolet 150 presented by Clark Signs & Graphics. Campbell held off a hungry bunch including the top five finishers: Dillon Bassett, Sunoco Pole Winner Travis Swaim, Brandon Jones and Devin Jones.

With another Mother Nature scare, the UARA-STARS raced aggressive from the green to the checkered flag . Swaim lead the field to green after a short shower hit the track. The reigning Champ celebrated his first UARA victory last season at The Pine and was aiming for a repeat as he lead the first 126 laps. He was awarded Tilton’s Most Laps Lead award. Campbell worked his way from ninth to capture the lead on lap 127. Campbell faced three restarts while in the lead, including the intense Green White Checker. For keeping his focus, Campbell was awarded the FLUIDYNE Cool Under Pressure Award and engine builder Jeremy Upchurch won his first Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race Award with the UARA for 2013.

Holley Performer Dillon Bassett gained a total of ten positions throughout the night. During the Green,White, Checker he stayed within the leading pack and managed to pass two cars to capture his second place finish.

Brandon Jones had a solid performance weekend. He maintained a top-5 position during both practices and qualified third. His competitive, but clean driving landed him on the front row during the last two restarts. During the last and final restart, Jones and Lee Tissott were battling hard.  Jones was facing the infield coming out of turn four and he lost two positions, but still had a solid fourth place finish. The amazing save during this close racing awarded Brandon Jones with the Pigwire Electricfying Move of the Race award.

Tissott, on the other hand, suffered a flat tire and fell back to 11th. The former UARA Champ Tissott was awarded the ARBodies Hard Luck Award for this misfortune. Tissott, who captured the win at Kingsport Speedway Friday night, drove from seventh and began to challenge the leading pack before his tire incident.  Tissot along with a host of others was a serious contender for the win.

Last year Rookies Devin Jones and Ben Rhodes finished fifth and sixth. Devin Jones won both practice sessions during the day and laid down a qualifying lap that placed him fourth. When things got a little crowed with the leading pack, Devin Jones played it safe and gave plenty of room. During the last few restarts, he was on a mission and made his way to the front. Rhodes and his team rocked pink t-shirts and a very special paint scheme in memory of Rita Lynn, who lost her life in October to Breast Cancer. Rhodes qualified eighth and maintained that position through the first 100 laps. He began moving forward and finished in sixth.

The 2013 Rookie class drivers had a mixture of battles all through the field during the Courtesy Chevrolet 150 presented by Clark Signs & Graphics. Garrett Jones qualified fifth, but began battling a tight racecar after the first caution. Dylan Hall qualified 10th, but fell back to fifteenth. While Garrett Jones and Hall fell back in position, Thomas Beane and Circle/Xtreme Trophies Rookie of the Race Chandler Levan gained positions throughout the night. Beane brought home a 12th place finish and Levan finished eighth. Levan put on a show as he and 2012 Camping World Truck Series Daytona winner John King battled throughout the night. While the field was in single file, these two were side by side, trading paint.

Local favorite and four time LPR winner this season Ryan Stiltner, Jeremy Pike, and Kevin Wolfe joined the STARS Saturday night. Stiltner ran Kingsport Friday night and suffered damage from a first lap incident, but brought his back-up car to compete in the Courtesy Chevrolet 150 presented by Clark Signs & Graphics. He brought home a seventh place finish, while Pike finished 13th and Wolfe 14th.

The next event for the STARS will be a Friday Night event at Anderson Motor Speedway in Anderson, SC on June 14th. Fans can follow their favorite STARS and get all the latest information on the series by following them on Twitter, @uarastars, and “like” them on Facebook under the United Auto Racing Association. With cooperating technology, the series page on Facebook has all of their raceday updates.

Results of the Courtesy Chevrolet 150 presented by Clark Signs and Graphics

1. 12 Garrett Campbell

2. 44 Dillon Bassett

3. 28 Travis Swaim

4. 33 Brandon Jones

5. 35 Devin Jones

6. 41 Ben Rhodes

7. 22 Ryan Stiltner

8. 81 Chandler Levan

9. 21 John King

10. 04 Ronnie Bassett Jr.

11. 7 Lee Tissott

12. 31 Thomas Beane

13. 27 Jeremy Pike

14. 17 Kevin Wolfe

15. 4 Dylan Hall

16. 88 Garrett Jones

17. Brodie Kostecki

Press Release
Press Release, source information and photo credits are located at the bottom of the article.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment