UARA, NCWTS and FKSSN Team Up for a Weekend Event at the Rock

UARA, NCWTS and FKSSN Team Up for a Weekend Event at the Rock

by April 2, 2013 0 comments

rockIIweb005Hendersonville, NC (04/1/13) –United Auto Racing Association , NASCAR Camping World Truck Series(NCWTS) and Frank Kimmel Street Stock Nationals (FKSSN) will host their second North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at The Rock April 12-14th.

The STARS and FKSSN haulers have the opportunity to arrive at the track Thursday April 11th from 3:00-6:00 pm. for early parking. The NCWTS haulers are scheduled to arrive Friday night. The UARA STARS will take to the track for practice Friday at 1:00-1:55 pm and have their final practice shortly thereafter from 3:00-3:55 pm. UARA qualifying is scheduled for Saturday morning around 11am. The green flag is set to wave at 2pm. Alternating with the STARS on Friday will be the FKSSN cars.

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will practice from 12:00-1:30 PM on Saturday, and again from 3:00-4:00 while the UARA STARS and FKSSN cars prepare for their races.

With the first two races of the season being complete opposite, fans are in for another different type of race from the UARA-STARS. The amount of action that could take place in the race all depends on the drivers. Many rookies and even some veterans have slipups at The Rock. The Rock is a completely different track than the rest of the tracks on the season schedule. Places like Southern National and Hickory are smaller in length and provide good short-track racing. The embankment and long straightaways at The Rock not only affect the drivers’ line, but how the team sets up their car.

The last time the STARS were at the Rock, they crowned Travis Swaim as their 2012 Series Champion. Swaim suffered power steering problems early on in the race, but his team fearlessly stepped up to the challenge. They strategized and kept Swaim right where he needed to be, position wise, to take home the championship. With this being the third event for the season, many teams will use it as a practice run for the finale and to prepare for Swaim’s very same scenario.

Going into the Rockingham race it is Ronnie Bassett Jr. leading the points having won the first two events. Bassett Jr. is followed by Garrett Campbell, Ben Rhodes, Dillon Bassett, Swaim, David Garbo Jr., Chandler Levan, Brandon Jones, Tyler Edwards and Devin Jones rounding out the top ten points runners.

To find out more about the UARA-STARS, fans can ‘like’ them on Facebook, United Auto Racing Association, or follow them on twitter, @uarastarsseries.

Press Release
Press Release, source information and photo credits are located at the bottom of the article.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment